Monday, February 15, 2010

KRIS KRISTOFFERSON/Please Don't Tell Me How The Story Ends (Publishing Demos: 1968-72) available May 11th, 2010!


Available May 11th, 2010

* First time ever available (with full approval of Kris Kristofferson)
* 60 page full color CD booklet 
* Liner notes include new interviews with Kris, the musicians, and more
* Exclusive testimonials from Dennis Hopper and Merle Haggard
* Full lyrics with track-by-track notes from Kris
* Unseen photos, archival material, and original Kris-penned lyrics from back in the day

After 7 years in the ever-changing, ever-challenging, music business and with 49 titles under their belt - ranging from French provocateur #1 Serge Gainsbourg to Detroit psych soul master Sixto Rodriguez - how does Light In The Attic celebrate its 50th release? By bringing you their pinnacle album to date…  

Over 5 years in the making, and with the attention to detail and elaborate packaging the label is known for, LITA 050 is none other than the never-before-released 1968-1972 demos of Texas-born Renaissance man and maverick songwriting pioneer, Kris Kristofferson. With the outlaw Highwayman's full blessing, Light In The Attic is proud and honored to present Kristofferson’s honest and upfront formative takes on the tunes that would eventually become part of the great American songbook.  

Since penning these numbers (many of which were written during the mid-to-late 60s while working as a janitor for Columbia Records in Nashville), over 500 artists including patron saint Johnny Cash, one-time lover Janis Joplin, and co-actor Bob Dylan (to name but three), have covered Kristofferson's material. While we shouldn't forget his vast commercial accomplishments as an award-winning recording artist and actor in more than 70 films (working under master directors like Martin Scorsese and Sam Peckinpah), it's these soul-stirring demos that laid the groundwork for his rough and tumble creative journey. Drop the needle and be transported into the intimate candle lit studio session like a fly on the wall.

Please Don't Tell Me How The Story Ends: The Demos 1968-72 features comprehensive liner notes by Michael Simmons (MOJO, LA Weekly), including interviews with Kristofferson, the musicians, and other related-folks from these landmark sessions. Plus, dig into a handful of testimonials from friends Dennis Hopper and Merle Haggard.  With full lyrics housed in a massive 60 page full color booklet featuring unseen photos and archival material, plus a gloriously mastered audio soundtrack (LP/CD/digital formats), you'd best crack open a bottle of your favorite trouble, sit back, and listen closely as Kristofferson relates his humanist vision in that down-home style – it’s full-blown poetry for the people.  

1. Me and Bobby McGee
2. Please Don’t Tell Me How The Story Ends
3. Smile At Me Again
4. The Lady’s Not For Sale
5. Border Lord
6. Just The Other Side of Nowhere
7. Come Sundown
8. Slow Down
9. If You Don’t Like Hank Williams
10. Little Girl Lost
11. Duvalier’s Dream
12. When I Loved Her
12. Billy Dee
13. Epitaph (Black and Blue)
14. Enough For You
15. Getting By, High, and Strange

No comments: