Thursday, March 21, 2013

NORA JANE STRUTHERS/Carnival: Available April 16th, 2013!





NORA JANE STRUTHERS 
& THE PARTY LINE

CARNIVAL

4.16.13



“When you go to a carnival, you go into a sideshow tent, and on every stage you find a different person with a different story,” says Nora Jane Struthers. “That’s why I’m trying to do with this album – craft vignettes, and in some cases more developed narratives, about imaginary people’s lives.” Struthers’ album Carnival, which will be issued on the singer-songwriter’s own label on April 16th, is an ambitious and literate follow-up to the Nashville performer’s much-praised 2010 solo debut.

Produced by Brent Truitt (Dolly Parton, Alison Krauss, Dixie Chicks), who also helmed Struthers’ self-titled bow, Carnival comprises 14 fresh original compositions in her “Classic Americana” vein that richly show off her skills as a sensitive and intelligent tune-weaver and a warm and persuasive vocalist. Recorded at Truitt’s East Nashville studio, the album marks the recording debut of Struthers’ touring band the Party Line. The gifted group of instrumentalists includes Struthers’ longtime collaborator P. J. George, Joe Overton, Aaron Jonah Lewis and Drew Lawhorn.

Struthers now emerges as a band leader with a smart, affecting cycle of songs sporting a timeline that stretches from the antebellum 19th-century South to the middle of the last century. Reflecting her background in literature – she taught English before undertaking a full-time career in music in 2008 – the tunes are deftly-told stories that survey the American terrain from a uniquely focused point of view.

“Over the past three years, as I’ve been touring and performing, I realized that primarily I’m a storyteller,” she says. “I’ve been working to hone my skills so I can do that better.” After listening to Carnival, no one will deny the keen edge of Struthers’ masterful new work.






TOUR
·  Thursday, March 21, 2013 | Dosey Doe Music Cafe | Conroe, TX
·  Friday, March 22, 2013 | Artworks | San Antonio, TX
·  Saturday, March 23, 2013 | Rear Window Listening Room | Ganado, TX
·  Tuesday, March 26, 2013 | River City Grille | Marble Falls, TX
·  Wednesday, March 27, 2013 | Cactus Café | Austin, TX
·  Thursday, March 28, 2013 | The Badu House | Llano, TX
·  Friday, March 29, 2013 | RiceGrass | Fischer, TX
·  Saturday, March 30, 2013 | RiceGrass | Fischer, TX
·  Thursday, April 4, 2013 | The Landings Club | Savannah, GA
·  Friday, April 5, 2013 | Red Clay Theatre | Duluth, GA
·  Saturday, April 6, 2013 | The Evening Muse | Charlotte, NC
·  Sunday, April 7, 2013 | House Concert | Morganton, NC
·  Wednesday, April 10, 2013 | Ashland Coffee & Tea | Ashland, VA
·  Thursday, April 11, 2013 | Tom Tom Founders Festival | Charlottesville, VA
·  Friday, April 12, 2013 | Pocahontas County Opera House | Marlinton, WV
·  Saturday, April 13, 2013 | Smithfield Wine & Brew Fest | Smithfield, VA
·  Wednesday, April 17, 2013 | Takoma Park Community Center | Takoma Park, MD
·  Thursday, April 18, 2013 | World Cafe Live at The Queen | Wilmington, DE
·  Friday, April 19, 2013 | Rockwood Music Hall | New York, NY
·  Saturday, April 20, 2013 | Northwest Park Nature Center | Windsor, CT
·  Sunday, April 21, 2013 | Club Passim | Cambridge, MA
·  Tuesday, April 23, 2013 | Cantab Lounge | Cambridge, MA
·  Wednesday, April 24, 2013 | The Parlor Room | Northampton, MA
·  Thursday, April 25, 2013 | B Side Ballroom | Oneonta, NY
·  Friday, April 26, 2013 | Sportsmen's Tavern | Buffalo, NY
·  Saturday, April 27, 2013 | Wellsville Creative Arts Center | Wellsville, NY
·  Sunday, April 28, 2013 | Elk Creek Café | Millheim, PA
·  Saturday, May 4, 2013 | Blue Sky Folk Festival | Kirtland, OH
·  Sunday, May 5, 2013 | Natalie's | Worthington, OH
·  Thursday, May 16, 2013 | Gettysburg Bluegrass Festival | Gettysburg, PA
·  Sunday, May 26, 2013 | Grove Park Inn | Asheville, NC
·  Saturday, June 8, 2013 | Kirk Avenue Music | Roanoke, VA
·  Monday, June 10, 2013 | Knoxville Visitor Center | Knoxville, TN
·  Wednesday, June 12, 2013 | Loveless Cafe | Nashville, TN
·  Friday, June 14, 2013 | Music on the Square | Jonesborough, TN
·  Friday, June 21, 2013 | Smoked Country Jam Bluegrass Festival | Cross Fork, PA
·  Saturday, June 22, 2013 | Smoked Country Jam Bluegrass Festival | Cross Fork, PA
·  Saturday, June 29, 2013 | Flatwater Festival | Hastings, NE
·  Friday, July 19, 2013 | Grey Fox Bluegrass Festival | Oak Hill, NY
·  Saturday, July 20, 2013 | Grey Fox Bluegrass Festival | Oak Hill, NY
·  Tuesday, July 23, 2013 | Ballard Park | Ridgefield, CT
·  Thursday, July 25, 2013 | The Pump House | East Lansing, MI
·  Friday, July 26, 2013 | Detroit Institute of Arts | Detroit, MI
·  Saturday, July 27, 2013 | Aten Place | Boyne Falls, MI
·  Sunday, July 28, 2013 | Manitou Music Festival | Glen Arbor, MI
·  Thursday, August 15, 2013 | Levitt Pavilion SteelStacks | Bethlehem, PA
·  Friday, August 16, 2013 | Little Yough Music Festival | Oakland, MD
·  Saturday, August 17, 2013 | The Freeman Stage at Bayside | Selbyville, DE
·  Friday, August 23, 2013 | Fayetteville Roots Festival | Fayetteville, AR
·  Saturday, August 24, 2013 | Fayetteville Roots Festival | Fayetteville, AR
·  Sunday, September 22, 2013 | Bristol Rhythm and Roots Reunion | Bristol, TN
·  Saturday, October 19, 2013 | Common Fence Music | Portsmouth, RI
·  Saturday, October 26, 2013 | WFMT's Folkstage | Chicago, IL
·  Saturday, November 2, 2013 | Swallow Hill | Denver, CO
·  Sunday, November 3, 2013 | Vilar Performing Arts Center | Beaver Creek, CO
·  Wednesday, November 20, 2013 | 4th & Main | Wray, CO
·  Thursday, November 21, 2013 | Bieroc Café | McCook, NE
·  Friday, November 22, 2013 | Manhattan Arts Center | Manhattan, KS

No comments: